02
Aug
08

Hellboy 2: The Golden Army Review

When Hellboy first came out a few years ago, people were split between if they liked it or not. I believe it was at 50/50 as to who liked it and who hated it. The first Hellboy was actually alright, it wasn’t the best but still very good. With the sequel coming out, how will people react to this? Will more people enjoy it or will more people hate it?

Before I even begin, there is one thing I must say. I hated the opening, this had to be one of the worst openings I’ve ever seen. I really do hate it when a movie starts off with text, please don’t do that it sucks. Then they cut to Hellboy as a child with his father on Christmas. His father of course tells him the story of the Golden Army with the worst graphics ever showing the story as he reads along. I mean I could have drawn better graphics for the opening scence and I’m the worst drawer around.

Graphics: Once out of the opening scence the graphics and visual designs were very well done. I found it easy to enjoy the sets and costumes as I could appreciate all the detail they put into it. This was really an achievement in set design as well as costumes. Some of the CGI was very well done and it was hardly noticable and very enjoyable.

Story: The story about the Golden Army and it’s origins and coming back to life I had no problem with. I really didn’t have any problems at all with this Golden Army storyline, it was everything in between. I was able to forgive the Liz/Hellboy love story but the dialogue between the two were stupid. They tried to give “Blue” a love story with the Princess and that was just plain retarted with it leading to “Blue” being the reason the Golden Army awoke. I mean it was really really retarded. There was too many love stories and baby for me. The was even a musical between Hellboy and “Blue”, seriously that has no place here.

Overall: At the end, I really did not enjoy this movie and I wish I wouldn’t had seen it. Although the costumes and setdesign was excellent, the story really really killed it for me. There were things that didn’t belong in the Hellboy story, I knew this without reading the comics.

+ Costumes/Set-design

– Almost all the dialouge

– The Story (with the exception of the Golden Army)

+ CGI

– A musical???

– Too much love and babies

Overall: 73 (or C-) with recommandations to not see it unless it’s free on TV and you have nothing better to do.


0 Responses to “Hellboy 2: The Golden Army Review”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment