20
Sep
09

my top 50: 10 through 1

10). TOCA Race Driver 3

toca-race-driver-3-20060313111533451

My favorite driving game of all year is made by Codemasters. It was a great driving game that had a lot of crazy cars to include F1 cars, go karts, and lawnmowers.

9). Syphon Filter 2

syphon_790screen002

The first video game series I loved. This kind of got me started into the shooter genre . Most of what I remember about the game is the M79 a grenade launcher.

8). Fallout 3

fallout-3-facts-that-could-save-your-life-20070701023902318

A lot like Oblivion but with guns. VATS for me was one of the best video game mechanics there are. The whole post apocalyptic world was just awesome. But what was the deal with the talking tree? Bethesda did a great job at this game and supported it well with DLC.

7). God of War II

godofwar2_08

I love Mythology so it’s no surprise that I love God of War. The service it does to ancient mythology is almost spot on. It inspired me to learn even more about Greek mythology. It also doesn’t hurt that this one of the greatest game of all time to play. Oh and there’s a lot of awesome boss, epically the twins in the hot tub. Bowchickbowbow.

6). Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots

metal-gear-solid-4-screens-20080513001608175

Technically this was a movie since it had 15 hours of cut-scenes at least. However the gameplay was awesome. Fighting in the middle of war as your character is dying. As the swan song of Solid Snake I absolutely enjoyed every moment. Especially the throw back level.

5). Assassin’s Creed

assassins_creed_1080_3

Not very many people enjoyed this game, epically to the level that I did. I admit that the game has it’s problems and the ending was very very gay. But you know what I enjoyed the rest of the game and I loved assassinating people.

4). BioShock

bioshock1

Another game with a horrible ending but that didn’t matter to me. The experience I had with this game was one of my favorites. I feel in love with this game at first sight and was never disappointed. The plasmids and upgrading system combined with the big daddies. I could go on for days about this game.

3). Halo 3

halo-3

Master Chief’s final game (for now) and it was badass. Waited forever for this game but it was worth it. Played the crap out of it. Multiplayer, coop campaign, you name it. But Bungie why could I not fight Gravemind? And why must I always fight Guilty Sparks? Don’t get me wrong I love Halo 3 but I can’t wait for Halo 3.

2). Call of Duty 4Modern Warfare

call-of-duty-4-modern-warfare-screenshot-big

When it comes down to it, Call of Duty 4 is arguably the best game ever made. At least until Modern Warfare 2 comes out. But it combines an outstanding story that I was completely immersed into and a multiplayer system I was obsessed with at for a while. It’s hard for any other game to compete with CoD 4 but only one can….

1) HalfLife 2 / The Orange Box

half-life-2

By itself Half-Life 2 is the best shooter there is. There was not a dull moment for me in this game, I loved every single second. But when The Orange Box came out it got even better. Because it included Episode 1 and Episode 2 both of which make Half-Life 2. Oh and there was a little game called Portal, which by itself could easily make it into my Top 50 of all time.

1 Response to “my top 50: 10 through 1”


  1. 1 hash3m
    October 14, 2009 at 5:09 am

    You have excellent taste; what a great list. But every gamer has his opinion. (That’s what the comment section is for, right?)

    – Zelda: Ocarina of Time & Soul Calibur (original & 2) not on the list??
    – Perfect Dark got a lower score than Resident Evil 5?? Code Veronica was the pinnacle of RE.
    – Freelancer was an obscure yet epic and highly polished game. Surprised it wasn’t on your list since most of my favorite games are.
    – I don’t dispute your top 3. The perfect top 3 list, but I would put some old school games like Zelda: OoT and Soul Calibur right behind them.
    – Oh and no Diablo 2 or Starcraft?! Talk about epic.

    I’ve played consoles just about as much as PC, but if I was stranded on a desert island I would much rather have the good old keyboard and mouse. Maybe that’s why games like Freelancer and Starcraft aren’t on the list…


Leave a Reply

